Use this procedure to edit and upload content while you are browsing the website. You do not need to open the website in the backend; you can use the inline editing function to edit your website directly while browsing it. Using the direct inline editing, you can see how the items you are editing look in the context of the website.
NOTE: By default, the inline editing functionality is enabled. You can disable inline editing by navigating to Administration » Settings » Advanced » Pages and in the Enable in-line editing input field enter true or false to enable or disable this functionality.
To use inline editing, you must be a Backend user, because you cannot open the inline editing without being logged in the backend.
You must also have permissions to modify and publish the item that you want to edit, using inline editing.
If your site has an active workflow, the process of editing and uploading content follows the rules of the workflow. For more information, see Overview: Content lifecycle and workflow and Workflow statuses.
When the system displays this icon, it means that you can edit content directly in the browser.
NOTE: To see which user is logged and can use the inline editing icon. The system displays the user that is currently logged in Sitefinity CMS. You can use the icon button to logout after you finish the changes.
The following table lists all content items that you can edit directly in the browser, together with editing actions available for each content type:
NOTE: If the items that you try to publish are subject to a workflow, the system displays a notification, informing you about the new status of the content items and displays a link to editing the items in Sitefinity CMS backend. For example, if an item must be approved before publishing, the system inform you that the item you are editing cannot be published, the status of the item is changed to Awaiting approval, and there is a link you can follow to edit the item in the backend.
NOTE: If not all items on the page are published, the system displays Mark not published content link in the toolbar. When you click the link, next to each item, the system displays its status.
When you click icon, you can use the following options:
Back To Top